Night Curfew In Bengaluru, 6 Other Cities In Karnataka From Saturday

Night Curfew In Bengaluru, 6 Other Cities In Karnataka From Saturday

Bengaluru has reported a surge in COVID-19 cases along with most major cities.

Bengaluru and six other cities in Karnataka will enforce a night curfew from 10 pm to 5 am starting Saturday, the government announced on Thursday, minutes after Prime Minister Narendra Modi urged states to announce fresh curbs to tackle soaring COVID-19 cases.

The curfew, which will be in place till April 20, will also be imposed in Mysuru, Mangaluru, Kalaburagi, Bidar, Tumakuru and Manipal, Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa announced. "Essential services will continue," he said.

Karnataka is among 10 states besides Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Uttar Pradesh, Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Gujarat, Kerala and Punjab that have shown a steep rise in the daily COVID-19 cases accounting for 84.21 per cent of the record 1.26 lakh new infections on Thursday, according to the Union Health Ministry.

India's COVID-19 cases have soared 13-fold in barely two months - a vicious second wave propelled by an open disregard for safety protocols nationwide - that has seen the third-hardest hit country soaring past its mid-September peak of around 98,000 cases a day.

Disclaimer: This is an automatically aggregated article/story by a computer program and has not been created or edited by

World COVID19 Meter






Last updated: GMT
sitemap Disclaimer 2019